Notes from Spain and Spanish Forum Learn REAL Spanish now!  

Go Back   Notes from Spain and Spanish Forum > Spanish Forum > Learning Spanish

Notices

Old 21st July 2009, 12:37 PM   #1
MiCasaEsSuCasa
Forero

Default Learning Spanish in 10 months

iHola! (I will be using an "i" as the reversed "!")

I've studied Spanish for three years in school, although I barely passed the course. The last two years of the course I didn't have any motivation whatsoever to learn the language. I didn't learn all the things that I should have learned, which is a shame.

But I have some basic knowledge of the Spanish grammar, I got a small vocabulary as well, and I do know how to pronounce the words correct (Although the double r sound is really hard to pronounce).

My timeframe is approximately 10 months. I'm going to Spain in 10 months. When it's time to get on the plane I want my Spanish to be as good as a native speaker's Spanish is. I wanna be able to speak Spanish fluently, with confidence. I want to know all the basic grammar that every other Spaniard knows. I want my vocabulary to be big enough so I can have everyday conversations without having to stop and think "what did that word mean now again...?". I'm not gonna work in Spain or anything so I don't need to learn speciallised words, like if I would work within medical care in Spain I would have to learn medical terms and so on.

Is this possible? I got a lot of spare time. At the moment I'm free as a bird. I can spend about 8 hours each day studying.

So, I got: Enough time (although I probably will have to study Spanish almost all of my free time), motivation and learning material. What I lack is a teacher. Someone who can put up a plan. Tell me what I should learn and when I should learn it.

Right now I'm using this webpage: http://www.studyspanish.com

I'm going through the grammar parts. It's killing me, really. I want to learn fast and see results immediatly, but it doesn't work that way does it.