Notes from Spain and Spanish Forum Learn REAL Spanish now!  

Go Back   Notes from Spain and Spanish Forum > Spain Forum > Moving to Spain and Living in Spain

Notices

Old 22nd September 2010, 07:07 PM   #1
cullenw
Novato

Default Moving to Barcelona and working remotely, lots of questions!

First I need to thank Marina and Ben for maintaining the blog, this forum, and building all the podcasts and amazing content for people in my position. You guys rock and after consuming everything I can from your sites for the past few weeks I really feel 100x more comfortable then I did before with my move. Keep up the good work and thank you!

While I have found a TON of helpful information I am still struggling with a few things. Before I ask questions I'll give everyone a little overview of my situation (which I plan to blog about full time as soon as I get organized):

I'm a 26 year old business owner living in Austin, TX, recently single, and one of my best friends in the world is a Barcelona native. She speaks amazing english and has offered to allow me to stay with her for 3 - 4 months for VERY cheap (300 euros per month). I've decided to take her up on this offer because, well, why the heck not?

So while I'm not worried about making friends and settling in because I'll have her help (not to mention all the great advice here like getting multiple intercambios), I am worried about work and little things related to maintaining my business.

While my business does have employees other then myself we are almost entirely a remote team. We either work from home, in coffee shops, or from other cities around the USA when traveling (we're in the web hosting, specifically WordPress, business). I do quite a bit of web development and design contracting as well, but again, this can be done entirely online. My clients could care less where I live.

So now that I've written a novel I'll actually ask questions: