Notes from Spain and Spanish Forum Learn REAL Spanish now!  

Go Back   Notes from Spain and Spanish Forum > Spanish Forum > Spanish Basics - Vocab and Grammar Q & A

Notices

Old 5th December 2008, 09:41 AM   #1
88keys07
Alberto

Default "Close to" correct translation verification

Hi guys,

I'm a student currently working in an Ophthalmic practice and, as it were, yesterday I unofficially became the emergency interpreter for a man who had no interpreter scheduled. It was my first experience ever doing translation/interpretation, and I loved it despite my only have upper-intermediate skills.

Anyway, in order to build my ophthalmic vocabulary I began reading many of the pamphlets about different eye diseases and condition, and I'm beginning to wonder if they have been machine translated or not. If you're still reading, one phrase in particular surprised me: "... cerca a la córnea".

I would have translated this "cerca de". There were many places where I would have translated something differently, and it really made me call my Spanish into question. This happened to be the one that bothered me the most.

So which is it? "cerca a" or "cerca de"

Thanks
88keys07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 10:50 AM   #2
Beckett
Mega Forero

Quote:
Originally Posted by 88keys07 View Post

So which is it? "cerca a" or "cerca de"
You're correct . "Cerca de" is the right one. And you're probably right about who the original "translator" was. I wouldn't be surprised if that pamphlet was translated by one of those online automatic translators, like you said.

Congrats on being tapped to use your Spanish in the workplace. It's exciting, isn't it?
Beckett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 11:07 AM   #3
88keys07
Alberto

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beckett View Post