Notes from Spain and Spanish Forum Learn REAL Spanish now!  

Go Back   Notes from Spain and Spanish Forum > Podcast Comments > Inspired Beginners Spanish Podcast - Comments

Notices

Old 18th October 2007, 10:22 AM   #1
Ben
Hero Forero

Question Inspired Beginners - Have you made the leap to Intermediate yet?

Inspired Beginners listeners, we have a question for you! Have you worked through all the Inspired Beginners Spanish podcasts from the beginning? As mentioned in recent episodes, our aim is to help you make the jump up to the Intermediate level as soon as possible.

If you have made that jump, we want to hear from you via our contact form or in this thread. We really want to know if this stuff works and your feedback is crucial!

Thanks!
Ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2007, 06:30 PM   #2
Fearful Symmetry
Forero

Kia Ora
I'm 4 months into learning Spanish, part-time, from scratch. I am a very motivated beginner who has learned other languages. But, as I'm sure you are well aware, no complete beginner could begin with "Inspired beginners" without running in terror! I did the first 40 episodes of Coffee Break Spanish which, I feel, set me up for NiS well.

Where I'm finding NiS Beginners to be excellent, is in the exposure to the sound of the language while having its shape and grammar explained in English in bite-sized chunks. I can understand much of the early Intermediate material but I'm no where near ready to back-translate it. There are a lot things like double object pronoun and the irregularity of some of the most common verbs that hang me up horribly.

Vocab is no big deal. In the past I've found vocab to fall into your lap once in the country. It's just a case of finding the devil in each language and beating it to death.