Notes from Spain and Spanish Forum

Notes from Spain and Spanish Forum (http://www.notesfromspain.com/forums/index.php)
-   Learning Spanish (http://www.notesfromspain.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   How to type Spanish accents (http://www.notesfromspain.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5263)

Perrault 10th February 2008 07:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Elvis (Post 42684)
:p It's all very well knowing how to type accents, the real problem is knowing when to use them.:p

¡jijiji!

¡Tienes mucha razón!

swaeraas 10th February 2008 07:57 PM

Thank you very much pablo and Gary! In fact I have a MacBook that I'm very satisfied with, and I will try your suggestions at once! (but I am quite stupid in technical matters..)

pabloscrito14 30th March 2008 04:55 AM

Thanks for the Mac OS X tips, Pablo. I was aware of the keyboard mapping option, but didn't know about the option key method.

I've used the Dvorak layout for my English typing as it's supposed to be easier on the wrists. It's actually difficult for me to go back to a regular "QWERTY" layout now. I haven't found a Dvorak equivalent for Spanish, though, so I'll probably be using the option method.

Flanny 23rd July 2008 02:02 AM

YES! you can have a spanish keyboard (layout) in windows FREE!
 
This may have been covered and maybe not. I just skimmed after much of the first page.

This is WAY late but I thought I'd post some info for those who actually want the feel of a spanish keyboard but don't want to pay bucks for it.

I have 2 links to provide for windoze users. The first is a site that provides "how to" in both vista and xp. FOR FREE IN MICROSOFT WINDOWS (not something you see or hear everyday) you can have the KEYBOARD LAYOUT of your choice (within limits). Without extra software you can add multiple keyboard layouts to choose from and if you wish, even have a toolbar icon that allows you to switch between keyboards in different applications. I.E. you can be in Notepad in English and in Firefox in Spanish and in openoffice.org writer in french if you so choose. Here's the link for that "how to":

http://www.conversationexchange.com/...d-language.php

Since this is a site dedicated to Spain and learning Castellano I'll assume you'll want a reference for a spanish keyboard layout. :D

http://class.georgiasouthern.edu/spa...s/kspanish.gif

You can use a variety of clear sticker print pages found at most office supply stores to print overlays to put onto your keyboard if you wish. I just use the above keyboard image when I forget where something is on the spanish layout.

(added in edit, instructions for doing the same in mac os x)
http://tlt.psu.edu/suggestions/inter...ds/mackey.html

Be careful though, the windows built in keyboard switching utility can take a bit of getting used to and likes to prove you wrong when you think you've got it all figured out.

Now that I've gotten the how to's out of the way for those who just gotta have their windows, Linux is a completely free software, if you don't mind installing it and are somewhat tech savvy. I like fedora the best but in most of the linux flavors you can install multiple languages during the installation process. Additionally you can log in and out of any given user login, set up both the language and keyboard preferences to start up the same for that log in each time. I.E. I have an "American" user and a "Castellano" user and an "Italia" user, etc. etc. etc. I have the keyboard options set on each one respectively, and the login language for each one is the proper language for that login. All this is done free where I would have to pay boocoo bucks for an "addon" pack of several disks to do this in windoze. i.e. when I log into "Castellano", every choice I click on is in spanish, right from the start up, to the log off, to the date in the tool bar, to the menu items on the sound control, etc. etc. etc. and when I log into "American" it's all in u.s. english. etc. etc. Or if I prefer I can have everything display in english and just have the keyboard set to spanish. My choice.

PS you don't have to give up windows or mac to run linux. You can have what's called a dual boot system (2 operating systems on the same computer). Either you or a tech savvy friend partitions your hard drive into multiple partitions. Install your main o.s. (windows or mac) on one partition then use your linux install disk to install linux on the remaining space. Linux installs a "boot loader" which gives you a menu with a choice of which OS to start into, with a "default" option selected so that if you don't do anything in the specified time period it starts into that one automatically. This way you can set up your mac os or windoze the way you like and you can have linux to boot into when you want that "spanish feel" so that windoze doesn't go flaky from too many user option changes enabled.


Sorry this is so late. I hope it helps someone that may have shown up recently or joins later that wonders these things.

marie-chan 29th July 2008 07:22 AM

when using Vista or XP here's a way:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sc59XJ_mHfU

i think i've written something.. dont know if it was posted... nways here's the video guide..;D

millerseth 1st August 2008 09:46 PM

For firefox users, this page has directions to install a cool little app that lets you toggle to Spanish characters with the F2 key

http://www.1729.com/spanish/index.html

mdbham 10th September 2008 01:09 AM

Mac viewing keyboard letters?
 
¡Hola!

¿Que tal?

Just a quick question about the MAC and getting spanish keyboard settings. Thanks for the advice btw.

Is there a way of "seeing" the letters for the spanish keyboard once you change it to spanish??

tad 13th October 2008 07:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flanny (Post 57039)
Linux is a completely free software, if you don't mind installing it and are somewhat tech savvy. I like fedora the best but in most of the linux flavors you can install multiple languages during the installation process.

I'm using ubuntu at the moment simply because when I broke my computer I didn't have a set of Windows disks and I've kind of got used to it now (and my computer seems to work faster). I've put a Spanish keyboard on but there doesn't seem to be that facility that Windows has to swap keyboards with a mouse-click -is there a way to do it without resetting from the preferences menu? Actually I've pretty much memorized the keystrokes I need now.
By the way, this is a Spanish keyboard.



http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3253/...6d750d.jpg?v=0


http://www.notesfromspain.com/forums...id=3%5B/IMG%5D

http://www.notesfromspain.com/forums...=2&pictureid=3
http://http://www.notesfromspain.com...=2&pictureid=3

Cortez 13th October 2008 08:33 PM

I swear I posted something in this thread the other day and now it's gone ...

greytop 14th October 2008 06:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cortez (Post 62551)
I swear I posted something in this thread the other day and now it's gone ...

Maybe it was this?

Cortez 14th October 2008 06:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by greytop (Post 62573)
Maybe it was this?

Ah yes, that is it. Two threads with the same title is quite confusing! :p

deecree 14th October 2008 08:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tad (Post 62548)
I'm using ubuntu at the moment simply because when I broke my computer I didn't have a set of Windows disks and I've kind of got used to it now (and my computer seems to work faster). I've put a Spanish keyboard on but there doesn't seem to be that facility that Windows has to swap keyboards with a mouse-click -is there a way to do it without resetting from the preferences menu? Actually I've pretty much memorized the keystrokes I need now.
By the way, this is a Spanish keyboard.
http://www.notesfromspain.com/forums...=2&pictureid=3
http://http://www.notesfromspain.com...=2&pictureid=3

You can right click on the task bar and add the language tool. If in your preferences you have the two keyboard configs in the list you can click the ENG or ESP on your task bar to switch.

tad 15th October 2008 03:16 PM

Thanks oh techy Incan one.:thumbs-up:

tad 15th October 2008 07:13 PM

º1234567890'¡ª!"·$%&/()=?¿
`1234567890-=¬!"£$%^&*()_+

hey it works! -I installed some eyeballs there too.:)

On my list it was listed as 'keyboard indicator' and had some flags next to it.

gary 15th October 2008 08:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tad (Post 62681)
º1234567890'¡ª!"·$%&/()=?¿
`1234567890-=¬!"£$%^&*()_+

hey it works! -I installed some eyeballs there too.:)

On my list it was listed as 'keyboard indicator' and had some flags next to it.

have you got an ñ?

tad 15th October 2008 09:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gary (Post 62690)
have you got an ñ?

ño.

gary 15th October 2008 09:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tad (Post 62691)
ño.

Then you'll not be able to sing the old Cockney anthem

ñ old iron
ñ old iron
ñ ñ ñ old iron

tad 15th October 2008 09:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gary (Post 62693)
Then you'll not be able to sing the old Cockney anthem

ñ old iron
ñ old iron
ñ ñ ñ old iron

...that's probably just as well then.:p

Lri 30th December 2008 04:01 AM

Here is my easy way to obtain International Characters
 
On your computer, click on Start/Run and type charmap.
Click OK and a Character Map window will open.
Select the character, copy it and paste it where you need it.

Have fun,

Lri


tad 31st December 2008 11:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecree (Post 62627)
You can right click on the task bar and add the language tool. If in your preferences you have the two keyboard configs in the list you can click the ENG or ESP on your task bar to switch.

I'v just noticed also that on my ubuntu (Hardy Heron) you can select 'character palette' from the toolbar list and simply have a range of characters sitting on your toolbar that can be accessd with one click. ;)


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.