Notes from Spain and Spanish Forum Learn REAL Spanish now!  

Go Back   Notes from Spain and Spanish Forum > Spanish Forum > En Español, ¿Hablamos?

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26th March 2006, 03:39 PM   #1
Ben
Hero Forero
 
Ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,421
Default How to type Spanish accents

Typing Spanish accents is easy if you have a Spanish keyboard at your fingertips (though many Spaniards don't always bother ).

For other keyboards around the world, there is an explanation of different ways to get the accents here. (Don't worry though, if you leave a few off in this forum we won't mind )

Firefox Users: Please note that the alt+number method for typing accents does not work with this forum when browsing with Firefox (it's a forum coding thing). We're very sorry about this!
Ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2006, 07:56 PM   #2
Alan
El Listo ;)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 660
Default

Setting up your keyboard to international settings gives a much more natural feeling anyway. AltGr + a = á is much more natural than Alt + 0245. But, if you really want to use the Alt + numbers method, just type your post into Wordpad or something then copy and paste.

I'm using a United Kingdom extended keyboard setting, and the only problem I'm having at the moment is ¿ and ¡. Accents can be typed using AltGr and ` keys (Gàidhlig uses the grave accent). The tilde can be typed using AltGr+~ , THEN n.

Even better, if you're a Windows user, you can set your OWN keyboard layout to suit the languages that you type in. You can set special combinations to allow you to easily or more easily type certain characters. I don't use those curly brackets much, and what is that | key there for anyway? Get some use from them:

http://www.microsoft.com/globaldev/tools/msklc.mspx


Last edited by Alan; 26th March 2006 at 09:55 PM.
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2006, 08:55 PM   #3
Sin
Forero
 
Sin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Default MoreKeys

There's a neat little free utility here. It opens in a small window that's always on top; and it gives you, at hand, all the accented letters.

http://www.braser.com/pr_mk1.html
Sin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2006, 06:24 AM   #4
Marina
NFS Admin
 
Marina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madrid
Posts: 1,237
Default

Just out of interest, in Unix or Linux one use | to execute one command over the result of another one (is called pipe) .
Marina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2006, 08:07 AM   #5
Alan
El Listo ;)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 660
Default

Yeah It's also used to create an OR operator in C/C++ as ||
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2006, 08:17 AM   #6
timg
Mega Forero
 
timg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 267
Default

Under Windows XP you can set your keyboard to have more than 1 layout. I have mine set to UK normally, but I can switch to Spanish layout with a (configurable) combination of keys. It remains as a QWERTY keyboard, but the punctuation keys change to allow you to type the accented characters, the ñ and the ¿¡ characters. Also, under Linux you can use setxkbmap to do the same thing (if you're using a graphical interface such as Gnome).
timg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2006, 07:50 PM   #7
tad
virtual idiot
 
tad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: palmers green
Posts: 2,400
Default yes it's good

After failing to do the international keyboard thing I tried the allchars utility suggested by Mark -very good and no fiddly triple fingered key combinations.
tad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2007, 09:07 AM   #8
Hugo
Forero
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben View Post
Typing Spanish accents is easy if you have a Spanish keyboard at your fingertips (though many Spaniards don't always bother ).

For other keyboards around the world, there is an explanation of different ways to get the accents here. (Don't worry though, if you leave a few off in this forum we won't mind )

Firefox Users: Please note that the alt+number method for typing accents does not work with this forum when browsing with Firefox (it's a forum coding thing). We're very sorry about this!

Hola Ben
I have enclosed in an attachment my way of using accent I find it very usefull, I an 72 and taking a Open University course in spanish this year, I love your chats with your wife great for my listening practice. Thank Hughie (Hugo)
Attached Files
File Type: doc Using accent keys on a standard keyboardwithout.doc (19.5 KB, 19 views)
Hugo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2007, 05:52 PM   #9
gastephen
..es que yo no estoy loco
 
gastephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gales
Posts: 1,932
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugo View Post
Hola Ben
I have enclosed in an attachment my way of using accent I find it very usefull, I an 72 and taking a Open University course in spanish this year, I love your chats with your wife great for my listening practice. Thank Hughie (Hugo)
Hola Hugo

¡Suerte con tu carrera en la universidad abierta!

Saludos.

Last edited by Ben; 4th January 2008 at 09:10 AM.
gastephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2008, 01:24 AM   #10
piperemirip3
Emily_La_Ciudad_de_NY
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 17
Default

How do I do it on a laptop with ... wordpad or whatever if I want to then paste it into firefox? 'Cause the ALT method doesn't work (It may also be a WINDOWS VISTA thing, I'm not sure)
piperemirip3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2008, 09:09 AM   #11
Perro Callejero
El Perro Callejero
 
Perro Callejero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Probablemente perdido
Posts: 325
Default

The ALT+ method only works with keyPADS, not the numbers in a row at the top of the keyboard. For laptops, most have some sort of "Num lock" key that you press, and then use the numbered keypad that share keys with some letters and hit num lock again to go back to typing.
Perro Callejero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2008, 07:33 AM   #12
marie-chan
Forero
 
marie-chan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 21
Wink

Hi Guys... If you are using Vista or XP here's a trick.. go to-> control panel-> then-> Regional and Language Options ->Keyboards Languages->Change Keyboards(note: you're not really gonna change the keyboard you're just gonna add a new one) -> Add... (then select the language that you want to add..) then ok and apply..
the new language can be seen in your toolbar( in the right side) to switch between keyboards EN(english) ES (Spanish) just do this command: (left alt)+Shift then there you go. you can switch between keyboards.. it's like having two keyboards in one...

if you are confused about the characters in the new keyboard or dont know how to find them just do this.. go to-> control panel-> then-> Regional and Language Options ->Keyboards Languages->Change Keyboards(note: you're not really gonna change the keyboard you're just gonna add a new one) ->then select the spanish keyboard and then properties...

here's a video session that i've recorded... a video guide
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sc59XJ_mHfU

hope this can help
marie-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2008, 03:40 AM   #13
Flanny
Malabarista
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: En una caja de cartón.
Posts: 82
Default aqúi tambien

Cómo escribir acentos de españoles en ventanas.
Cómo cambiar teclado a españoles en ventanas.

http://www.conversationexchange.com/...d-language.php

una imagen teclado de español.

http://class.georgiasouthern.edu/spa...s/kspanish.gif

Cómo cambiar teclado a españoles en "mac".

http://tlt.psu.edu/suggestions/inter...ds/mackey.html

En "Linux" simplemente cambria el idioma en la entrada. Si necesaria, instale el idioma del CD de instalación.
Flanny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2008, 09:14 AM   #14
Cortez
Forero
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: England
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marie-chan View Post
Hi Guys... If you are using Vista or XP here's a trick.. go to-> control panel-> then-> Regional and Language Options ->Keyboards Languages->Change Keyboards(note: you're not really gonna change the keyboard you're just gonna add a new one) -> Add... (then select the language that you want to add..) then ok and apply..
the new language can be seen in your toolbar( in the right side) to switch between keyboards EN(english) ES (Spanish) just do this command: (left alt)+Shift then there you go. you can switch between keyboards.. it's like having two keyboards in one...
I've done this but I've left it so it says EN in the language bar. Whilst it says EN I can press Alt Gr + e i o u a and get the accented versions but Alt Gr + n does not give me ñ. Any ideas why?

Also, I'd like to be able to press Alt Gr + ! and ? to get the upside down versions but that doesn't work either. Can it be done?
Cortez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2008, 11:10 PM   #15
Retazo
Just Starting
 
Retazo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cortez View Post
I've done this but I've left it so it says EN in the language bar. Whilst it says EN I can press Alt Gr + e i o u a and get the accented versions but Alt Gr + n does not give me ñ. Any ideas why?

Also, I'd like to be able to press Alt Gr + ! and ? to get the upside down versions but that doesn't work either. Can it be done?
Cortez

I to have a similar problem to you with the exception I don't see the the EN at the top right hand side of the tool bar. But everything else is as you say. I have vista and have asked previously how I can obtain the accents over the letter and so far this is the closest I have come. I am not great with tech things so it could well be me. At least I now get some accents thanks to Marie-Chan help.

Can anyone else offer any further help?

Thanks

R
Retazo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2009, 05:37 PM   #16
Peg
Novato
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Thumbs up Sp Keyboard

Thanks for unraveling the mystery!! This really helps!!
Peg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2009, 03:16 AM   #17
SunSurfHome
Forero
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 5
Default

For any Ubuntu users that don't feel like searching through the Ubuntu and Linux forums, here is how I set up a Spanish keyboard in Jaunty Jackelope:

  1. Click System/Preferences/Keyboard
  2. Click Layouts tab
  3. Click the Add button and follow the menus. (You may also wish to go ahead and print out a copy of the keyboard layout while you're at it.)
  4. Right click on your panel of choice (the bar at the top or the bar at the bottom if your a n00b and have a regular sort of installation) and select "Add to Panel" from the pop-up menu.
  5. Add the Keyboard Indicator.

You should now be able to click the keyboard indicator to alternate between keyboards. ¡Sí!

Quick note: the [ key followed by a letter places an accent over the letter.

SSH

Last edited by SunSurfHome; 29th April 2009 at 03:17 AM. Reason: Apparantly I haven't learned English grammer well enough yet.
SunSurfHome is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Learn REAL Spanish now!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.