Notes from Spain and Spanish Forum Learn REAL Spanish now!  

Go Back   Notes from Spain and Spanish Forum > The Rastro > Geek's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30th April 2008, 09:41 PM   #1
tad
virtual idiot
 
tad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: palmers green
Posts: 2,400
Default Internet radio

Anybody here got one of those internet radios then?
tad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2008, 10:01 PM   #2
deecree
Errant in Forolandia
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kobol
Posts: 1,043
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tad View Post
Anybody here got one of those internet radios then?
Indeed, mines called a "laptop" and works just about anywhere.
deecree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2008, 02:13 PM   #3
tad
virtual idiot
 
tad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: palmers green
Posts: 2,400
Default

Anybody here got one of those internet radios (that isn't also a laptop) then?
tad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2008, 01:14 PM   #4
redhand
Forero
 
redhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 24
Default

Hi
No I haven’t but I have heard that they are good. But a bit put off by the price £150.There is another one which is a bit cheaper if I remember. I am keen to get one soon as I can. How cool would it be to listen to Radio from Argentina when you wake up? But I have heard that it does buffer a bit so you still get the problems that you would on a Laptop
redhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2008, 04:20 PM   #5
Margot
ViajeraVerdaderaVirtual
 
Margot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redhand View Post
Hi
How cool would it be to listen to Radio from Argentina when you wake up?
Could put you right back to sleep!
( just kidding...I couldn't resist...apologies to anyone I've offended)
Margot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2008, 04:23 PM   #6
eldeano
He's the most tip top
 
eldeano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 3,889
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redhand View Post
How cool would it be to listen to Radio from Argentina when you wake up?
You wouldn't get their breakfast show.
eldeano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2008, 01:46 PM   #7
tad
virtual idiot
 
tad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: palmers green
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redhand View Post
Hi
No I haven’t but I have heard that they are good. But a bit put off by the price £150.
Well I found this from maplins £69.99 -actually I haven't even got WiFi at home yet.
tad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2008, 02:15 PM   #8
gastephen
..es que yo no estoy loco
 
gastephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gales
Posts: 1,932
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tad View Post
Well I found this from maplins £69.99 -actually I haven't even got WiFi at home yet.
Looks nice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maplin imprecise grammar
Connects to your wireless home network to listen to over 9,000 radios worldwide
Cool! You don't even have to listen to the 'radios'; it does it for you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maplin 'technical' details
Automatically detects all radio channels and uploads them for you to browse
But where does it upload them to?
gastephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2008, 02:34 PM   #9
deecree
Errant in Forolandia
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kobol
Posts: 1,043
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gastephen View Post
But where does it upload them to?
To your brain, via your ear, I suppose.
deecree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2008, 02:41 PM   #10
gastephen
..es que yo no estoy loco
 
gastephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gales
Posts: 1,932
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecree View Post
To your brain, via your ear, I suppose.
Haha. What, all of them? Perhaps it uses some sort of Max Headroomesque blipvert compression technique to stream all 9000+ channels in parallel straight into your subconscious. Would certainly save a lot of time, that would.
gastephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2008, 03:00 PM   #11
deecree
Errant in Forolandia
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kobol
Posts: 1,043
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gastephen View Post
Haha. What, all of them? Perhaps it uses some sort of Max Headroomesque blipvert compression technique to stream all 9000+ channels in parallel straight into your subconscious. Would certainly save a lot of time, that would.
Not only is that entirely plausible, I am now utterly convinced that that is what it does. £150 seems a bargain.
deecree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2008, 03:11 PM   #12
gastephen
..es que yo no estoy loco
 
gastephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gales
Posts: 1,932
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecree View Post
Not only is that entirely plausible, I am now utterly convinced that that is what it does. £150 seems a bargain.
Aye, me too. And the only thing preventing me from purchasing such a fine apparatus forthwith is the slight detail that WLAN + foot-and-a-half solid stone internal walls =
gastephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2008, 03:17 PM   #13
ValenciaSon
Hero Forero
 
ValenciaSon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Posts: 4,915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gastephen View Post
Haha. What, all of them? Perhaps it uses some sort of Max Headroomesque blipvert compression technique to stream all 9000+ channels in parallel straight into your subconscious. Would certainly save a lot of time, that would.
It buffers with a Johnny Mnemonic processor.
ValenciaSon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2008, 03:20 PM   #14
gastephen
..es que yo no estoy loco
 
gastephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gales
Posts: 1,932
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ValenciaSon View Post
It buffers with a Johnny Mnemonic processor.
Nice.
gastephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2008, 07:28 PM   #15
tad
virtual idiot
 
tad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: palmers green
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gastephen View Post
... that WLAN
Tricky language Welsh.
If this is a dumb question please make out like it's not. With WiFi do you have to have the computer turned on or will it work if just the modem (external cable in my case) and wireless router are turned on?
tad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2008, 07:36 PM   #16
deecree
Errant in Forolandia
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kobol
Posts: 1,043
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tad View Post
Tricky language Welsh.
If this is a dumb question please make out like it's not. With WiFi do you have to have the computer turned on or will it work if just the modem (external cable in my case) and wireless router are turned on?
What an intelligent question! Not only that, but it is exquisitely put. It's almost as if you were Einstein and Shakespeare's test-tube love child.

The answer is that if your wireless router is turned on then nothing else need be. It sounds like you have a modem and a separate wireless device, in which case they'd both need to be turned on. You will almost certainly need to have them both plugged into the mains to do this. It is also quite likely that you will need to have a cable line to connect to your cable modem. In case you were unsure, you will need a house to put all this in.

Hope this helped.
deecree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2008, 07:45 PM   #17
tad
virtual idiot
 
tad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: palmers green
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecree View Post
What an intelligent question! Not only that, but it is exquisitely put. It's almost as if you were Einstein and Shakespeare's test-tube love child.
Well that's not really for me to say, but..

Quote:
to connect to your cable modem. In case you were unsure, you will need a house to put all this in.

Hope this helped.
Ah, that's smart, yes, the old house thingy -top man!
tad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2008, 08:22 PM   #18
deecree
Errant in Forolandia
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kobol
Posts: 1,043
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tad View Post
...stuff...
Hopefully you already have encryption turned on, and and MAC address whitelist on your wireless router as we speak, but don't be tempted to turn it off to get this radio to work. All sorts of terrible things could happen.

Post here if you need help.
deecree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2008, 08:34 PM   #19
gastephen
..es que yo no estoy loco
 
gastephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gales
Posts: 1,932
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecree View Post
Hopefully you already have encryption turned on, and and MAC address whitelist on your wireless router as we speak, but don't be tempted to turn it off to get this radio to work. All sorts of terrible things could happen.

Post here if you need help.
Yes. Whatever you do, make sure you are ever vigilant for the likes of this extremely dangerous individual.
gastephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2008, 10:32 AM   #20
eldeano
He's the most tip top
 
eldeano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 3,889
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecree View Post
It's almost as if you were Einstein and Shakespeare's test-tube love child.
Almost, in as he's got an 'a' in his name.
eldeano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Learn REAL Spanish now!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.