Notes from Spain and Spanish Forum Learn REAL Spanish now!  

Go Back   Notes from Spain and Spanish Forum > The Rastro > Geek's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18th January 2009, 02:47 PM   #1
MrMark
Convert to vinos
 
MrMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 317
Question How does he display examples from Excel?

How does this guy produce image files on his blog that display excel screens (including the menu bars and pop-up windows)? I'm assuming he somehow does a whole screen grab and then uses a particular graphics tool to decrease the size of the graphics file, but I may be mistaken:

http://jldexcelsp.blogspot.com/searc...olidar%20Datos

Incidentally, a very interesting site/blog the author has put together there.
MrMark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2009, 02:58 PM   #2
deecree
Errant in Forolandia
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kobol
Posts: 1,043
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMark View Post
How does this guy produce image files on his blog that display excel screens (including the menu bars and pop-up windows)? I'm assuming he somehow does a whole screen grab and then uses a particular graphics tool to decrease the size of the graphics file, but I may be mistaken:

http://jldexcelsp.blogspot.com/searc...olidar%20Datos

Incidentally, a very interesting site/blog the author has put together there.
Yep, just screenshots.
deecree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2009, 05:48 PM   #3
kenpeace
Super Forero
 
kenpeace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chester, UK
Posts: 214
Default

On a Windows system ALT-PRINTSCREEN will capture the active window.
PRINTSCREEN will capture the desktop.

To capture selected areas then a screengrab program is necessary. There are many of these, some are freeware. I really like one of them but at the moment I can't think of its name. I use it at work but not at home.
kenpeace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2009, 06:44 PM   #4
gary
Samuri Forero
 
gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 2,711
Default

On a mac
Command shift 3 gives you crosshairs and once you have made your selection it makes a . Png file on the desktop
Command shift 4 copies your selection to the clipboard
gary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2009, 08:27 PM   #5
Ben
Hero Forero
 
Ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gary View Post
On a mac
Command shift 3 gives you crosshairs and once you have made your selection it makes a . Png file on the desktop
Command shift 4 copies your selection to the clipboard
Or get the amazing, and free, Screenshot Plus widget for mac.
Ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2009, 08:51 PM   #6
ValenciaSon
Hero Forero
 
ValenciaSon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Posts: 4,915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenpeace View Post
On a Windows system ALT-PRINTSCREEN will capture the active window.
PRINTSCREEN will capture the desktop.

To capture selected areas then a screengrab program is necessary. There are many of these, some are freeware. I really like one of them but at the moment I can't think of its name. I use it at work but not at home.
Snag It, but only available in PCs.
ValenciaSon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2009, 09:32 PM   #7
gastephen
..es que yo no estoy loco
 
gastephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gales
Posts: 1,932
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenpeace View Post
On a Windows system ALT-PRINTSCREEN will capture the active window.
PRINTSCREEN will capture the desktop.

To capture selected areas then a screengrab program is necessary. There are many of these, some are freeware. I really like one of them but at the moment I can't think of its name. I use it at work but not at home.
The freeware one I use for Windows is Bug Shooting. It's pretty handy for quick screen grabs, resizing, annotating, saving as JPG, etc.
gastephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2009, 07:45 PM   #8
MrMark
Convert to vinos
 
MrMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 317
Default

Many thanks to all for the info. I'll be looking at Snag It or Bug Shooting. Cheers!
MrMark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Learn REAL Spanish now!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.